Year 1954
Event Area 3-C Pow Wow
Host Lodge Shenshawpotoo 276
SIte Camp Rock Enon
Location Gore, VA
Dates May, 1954
Lodge Chief Hayden Payne
Lodge Adviser Ray Garrabrandt
Attending Nawakwa 3, Koo Koo Ku Hoo 161, Shenandoah 258, Shenshawpotoo 276, Blue Heron 349, Powhatan 456, Kecoughtan 463, Amanquemack 470, and Chanco 483



Honored guest and keynote speaker at the 1954 Area 3-C Pow Wow was H. Lloyd Nelson, Chairman of the Order of the Arrow National Committee, Past National Chief, and one of the first recipients of the OA Distinguished Service Award.

1954 was the tenth anniversary of Shenshawpotoo, the host lodge. Ten years earlier as National Chief H. Lloyd Nelson approved the application from Shenandoah Area Council for a new Order of the Arrow Lodge and assigned it number 276.

The emblem for the 1954 Pow Wow was designed by Area 3-C Leader Ray Garrabrandt, and is the only flap-shaped Area 3-C patch.

Ralph P. Lutz, co-founder and first Vigil Honor recipient of Amanquemack (now Amangamek Wipit) Lodge 470, received the honor at the 1954 Area 3-C Pow Wow.


  • Chief – John Hart III, Blue Heron Lodge 349
  • Vice-Chief – Ed Huneke, Nentico Lodge 12


  • Chief – Bob Geil, Amanquemack Lodge 470
  • Vice-Chief – Rae Southall, Shenandoah Lodge 258


Tagged with:

Leave a Reply


© 2010-2021, Glenn Chase. All rights reserved.